CHRISTMAS MEMORIES

memoriesofchristmas

Christmas always bring me pure bliss with all the hustle and bustle of the holiday season. The thrill, excitement, and fun always bring me wonder. I always look forward to all the colorful, glittering  and  wonderful decorations and trimmings everywhere. Christmas carols filling the air also gives me a cheer. Going around the neighborhood to sing Christmas songs awaken the mischievousness in me and my friends. We go to church for the “Simbang Gabi” hoping in completion we can make our wishes come true. I couldn’t help but imagine what kind of presents would I get from my loved ones on Christmas eve and on Christmas day. We usually hang our socks for Santa on Christmas eve hoping to receive a special present from him. Typically every child desire and fancy to get what they wished for. So usually, Santa (which I later found out was my mother and father) do just that. We also gather on a festive family meal. How our eyes drool at all the mouth-watering and  sumptuous dishes and delicacies prepared on our table. I and my siblings could only eat some of the food on special occasions so we always get our fill until we can stand no more.

Almost all of families gather in this holiday season. Spirit of love is shared through giving and sharing among families, relatives, friends, neighbors even with strangers. It was such a magical Christmas experience indeed and I thought it would always be the same.

As I grew older, things dramatically changed. Every time this season comes, it stirs mixed emotions in me. There is this melancholic and bittersweet feeling that engulf me. The happy thoughts of my younger days faded away and what remain is the bedazzlement and disillusionment of the reality. I still enjoy celebrating Christmas but it is not all about the fun anymore. I have come to terms with the fact that not everyone can experience such wonderful things. A lot of people around the world are suffering from inequity, poverty, hunger, war, and so on. It saddened me to think of all the conflicting issues that we are facing in our society. I often ask myself why things have to happen this way. Why the world is such in chaos. But then again, this is the reality. We are out of control of all the things that are happening around us. We are here to witness these things firsthand and be a part of all these pandemonium. We are in this great maze of events that keep our lives topsy-turvy.

What is then is the relevance of Christmas in this generation? Why are we celebrating Christmas? Christmas is given different meaning and interpretation in accordance with different culture and traditions around the world. I always hear/read comments from different people that we have to really put our hearts and minds in the true meaning of Christmas. And so with this statement, we will all come to the basic question: What is the true meaning of Christmas?

Christmas is the commemoration of the birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ who died on the cross to redeemed us from our sins. This a time to reflect how great the love of God is for His people. We should always remember the relevance of this event not only during the Christmas season but all through the days of our lives.

How I wish I can turn back time to my younger days where I can be carefree and not be wary about the things happening around me. My childhood was filled with amazing Christmas experience and I am grateful of it.  It would always be something that I can reminisce and share with my children. And how I wish that they will enjoy every Christmas season while they are still young and innocent. Once realization dawned on them of what the world is really like, I want them to have something to recall. The wonderful memories would be something that they can treasure and can be passed on to the next generation. No matter what happens, some memories cannot be replaced.

Leave a Reply

