YESTERDAY’s MEMORY

It’s funny when you didn’t expect something and your world was just turned topsy-turvy because of it. Well, it is not literally funny rather I just want to make light of the situation. Change is the only constant in this world so we might as well be open-minded to accept whatever changes may occur in our lives. Embrace it with grace, hope, and faith. It may not at all pleasant but when we think about it in a positive manner, things may turn out positively and in our favor.

I always fear of change. I want to stay in my comfort zone. I don’t want to start at the bottom again once I venture into something new. I have my own insecurities that hinder me to explore my skill and talent into a different level. I have long been contented with my present job that I feel like this is all I’m going to do until I retire. I have been complacent for a long time that I almost do not know how to give in to challenges of a new job. My company is not at all that big and do not even give us benefits but I am happy with my job and I enjoy the companion of my colleagues. The management is not that good as well but somehow we can meet our differences one way or another.

Recently, we have been hearing a lot of hearsay that we will be moving to a new office and there will be a lot of changes to take place. Some even speculate that we might be having a new management or worse our company is getting bankrupt. All of us are quite anxious about this but it seemed the management doesn’t care what we are thinking. It just adds to our fear of losing our job in the end. Thankfully though after months of ignoring all the rumors circulating in the office, one of the management staff assured us that everything is going well. There will only be some changes to be implemented for the advancement of our company. And this news really relieved us from days of agony on thinking about our future. It seemed the roller coaster has finally halted and we can now relax our senses from all the excitement and adrenalin rush.

I realize one thing from this situation. Nothing is permanent. Anytime change will occur. And we have to ready ourselves all the time because it’s like a thief in the night that will come at the least expected moment. My work could be taken from me anytime so I need to plan what I am going to do when it happens. And from now on, I decided to pursue my studies to improve my skills. We shouldn’t settle less of ourselves. We should continue to strive for something that can equip ourselves to survive in the changes yet to happen. It’s better to be prepared than to be left broken.

Leave a Reply

