QUIET TIME

Three weeks ago, I and my lovely daughters stayed for a week in my sister’s house. It was the last two weeks before the school year begins so they make use of the remaining time to spend it with their Aunts and cousins. My sister has 2 boys and it was quite fun and amusing to be with them. They are English-speaking lads so it was a great practice for my girls to communicate using the language. We usually speak in 2 languages (English and Filipino) and one dialect (Waray-Waray; our mother tongue) at home. It is interestingly new for them to use English only in talking with their cousins. My youngest would always tell me that her nose is bleeding because of too much English. She was lost for words sometimes and we couldn’t help but laugh at it. Children nowadays are versatile. They can easily adapt with the changes around them with proper guidance and support from adults. It was a great learning experience for my daughters.

While the kids were having fun, we, the adults also have our moment together. I was able to have a great conversation with my siblings. I have two other sisters who are living with my older sister as well. It was kind of small family get together. With our busy schedules, we treasure those moments that we can be together. I also had a chance to borrow some good books from my older sister. I love reading books but sometimes I couldn’t find enough time to sit down and read one. This time, I made up my mind to read the book, though. I commit to finding time to read a chapter or two every day.

11251270_1133371410013061_6144138791013298355_n

Right on the first chapter, I have learned and realized a lot of things. It dawned on me that I have been missing a lot in my walk with the Lord. I have so much to relearn. I have been taking control over my life that I neglected God to be in control instead. I have been overwhelmed of my problems and circumstances that I forget that He has good plans for me and He would never let me be in these difficult situations if I cannot handle it. I pray that God will continue to reveal His plans for me through his words. I am excited to have one on one moment with Him in my quiet time. To talk with him, to pour out my thoughts, desires, and dreams with him, to share my fears and anxiety and most of all to give him honor, glory and praise.

Last night, as I was reading my bible, these verses struck me.

“Inquire first for the word of God” -2 Chronicles 18:4(b)

“Thus saith the Lord unto you, Be not afraid nor dismayed by reason of this great multitude; for the battle is not yours, but God’s.” -2 Chronicles 20:15(b)

What a powerful reminder in just the right time when I needed it most! God is good!

Leave a Reply

